Portland Premier follows OMPA Annual Meeting on Monday

On Monday, January 28, 2013 at McMenamins Mission Theater in Northwest Portland, the Oregon Media Production Association‘s 6:30 pm annual meeting presents Awards of Excellence, and is followed by two films written and directed by Oregon independent filmmaker James Westby.

“Hot in the Zipper” a raucous screwball comedy set in the apartment of three lovely ladies in 1947 Manhattan, was filmed entirely in one unbroken 18-minute take and stars Jana Lee Hamblin, Katie O’Grady, Elizabeth Strelow and Spencer Conway. Additional credits include director of photography Kevin Fletcher, production designer David Storm, costume designer Casey Boyd and sound recordist Morgan Hobart. “Hot in the Zipper” premiered at Palm Springs International Shortsfest. Monday is the film’s Portland premier.

Hot In The Zipper’s Portland premier, Monday night at the Mission Theater

Feature film “The Auteur” is called “a sweet romantic comedy about the world’s greatest porn director” and stars Melik Malkasian, John Breen, Katherine Flynn, Katie O’Grady, and Ron Jeremy. Produced by Amber Geiger, Byrd McDonald and co-produced by Davis Priestley, “The Auteur” premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival in 2008.

OMPA and the Mission Theater showcase Oregon-made films to help bring attention to Oregon’s independent filmmakers. OMPA is a trade association dedicated to growing commercial, film, television and interactive media production in Oregon. The Mission Theater was the first craft brewpub in Oregon to operate in a functioning movie theater.

Doors open for the OMPA Annual Meeting at 5:30 pm for the 6:30 pm program. General public is welcome to attend. OMPA members plus guest admitted at no charge, non-members $10. Details and RSVP for the annual meeting are at www.ompa.org/events.

“Hot in the Zipper” short premiers at 8pm and is followed by “The Auteur”. Admission to the film screenings is just $3.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *